top of page

REVIEW: Naughty Boss by Whitney G


He definitely wasn’t supposed to get that email…

Subject: My Boss.

Have I already told you that I hate my boss today? Sexy as hell or not, this pompous, arrogant, ASSHOLE asked me to pick up his dry cleaning the second I walked through the door. Then he told me that I needed to take his Jaguar to a car wash that was ten miles outside of the city, but only after I needed to stand in a never-ending line to buy some type of limited, hundred-dollar watch. I honestly can’t wait to see the look on his face two months from now when I tell him that I’m quitting his company and that he can kiss my ass. KISS. MY. ASS. All those former fantasies about him kissing me with his “mouth of perfection” or bending me over my desk and filling me with his cock are long over. OVER. Your bestie, Mya PS--Please tell me your day is going better than mine… Subject: Re: My Boss. No, you haven’t already told me that you hate your boss today, but seeing as though you’ve sent me this email directly, I know now… Yes, I did ask you to pick up my dry cleaning the second you arrived to work to day. (Where is it?) And I did tell you to take my Jaguar to the car wash and pick up my thousand-dollar watch. (Thank you for taking five hours to do something that could be accomplished in two.) You don’t have to wait two months from now to see the look on my face when you tell me you’re quitting. I’m standing outside your office at this very moment. ( Open the door. ) No comment on your “fantasies,” although I highly doubt they’re “long over.” Your boss, Michael PS—Yes. My day is definitely going far better than yours...

REVIEW

Let me just start by saying I've never read a Whitney G book. I've heard of her, I've seen all the hype around this book and I honestly can't believe it was written by the same person who became a NYT and USA today bestseller.

I was lucky, I pre-ordered this book for 99p, it's now priced at $2.99. The synopsis intrigued me even though I didn't like the necklace the dude on the cover was wearing. After reading this book, I've now seen that the synopsis is clearly just an extract of the story because there is not real plot to this book.

There's nothing juicy or mind blowing. Just a playboy CEO who fucks his assistant, anyone and everyone could write this story. I didn't know it was a novella when I ordered it, it only said when I went to download it to my kindle. So then to find that it was 124 pages AND finished at 70% was a bit of a joke, ESPECIALLY since it was riddled with really basic typos (some that a spell check would have picked up) and realism/timing errors.

For example, 3am at the Rockefeller Plaza and there are families skating. Really? And doing the nasty once and it somehow taking about 3 hours and she doesn't realise? 3 hours?! Bits like that just made me think 'this has clearly been written to make quick money' and that's what annoyed me most.

If you have been honoured with the title 'NYT and USA Today Bestseller' don't follow it up with a plotless, unedited, overpriced short story. At least make it look like some effort went into it. That you value your readers enough to give them a decent meaty story.

Nothing in this book makes you connect to their characters. When I first started reading it I had to double check I was reading the male's perspective because it read like a woman. There's no description of the places to help you get into the right headspace. The time jumps for no reason. There's a lot of telling and not showing because emails are used to get to the point quicker. It all just felt lazy, rushed and with the purpose of making some quick cash.

I'm giving it 2 stars because I did make it through and would probably have tolerated more if it wasn't the price it was or from the author it was. Unfortunately, my expectations were high and it was quite a large fall.

  • Facebook B&W
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Twitter B&W
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • Black Google+ Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Blog Archive
bottom of page