top of page

ARC REVIEW: Counsellor by Celia Aaron


'In the heart of Louisiana, the most powerful people in the South live behind elegant gates, mossy trees, and pleasant masks. Once every ten years, the pretense falls away and a tournament is held to determine who will rule them. The Acquisition is a crucible for the Southern nobility, a love letter written to a time when barbarism was enshrined as law. Now, Sinclair Vinemont is in the running to claim the prize. There is only one way to win, and he has the key to do it — Stella Rousseau, his Acquisition. To save her father, Stella has agreed to become Sinclair's slave for one year. Though she is at the mercy of the cold, treacherous Vinemont, Stella will not go willingly into darkness. As Sinclair and Stella battle against each other and the clock, only one thing is certain: The Acquisition always ends in blood.'

I think books that come with warnings are definitely my faves. I love it when a book shocks me, when I'm reading something and thinking 'Jesus, that's crazy' but not in a bad way. That's definitely what this book made me think, and to be honest I wouldn't be surprised if it actually happened in real life, which is awful but regardless, this book was FAR from awful.

I loved it. Celia paints Sinclair Vinemont as a terrible person, evil through and through, but the view points you get from him mean you can't help but crush a little. He may be doing bad things, even thinking bad things, but he does it so well! I can't wait to see how his feelings progress. I'm secretly hoping he turns it around. He's too sexy!

Stella is forced to sign a contract, making her Sinclair's property. You don't find out what she has to do until Stella does, and her response to it is admirable. She's a damn strong woman! Completely love her. Sinclairs' two brothers are interesting. Lucias seems like he could be worse than Sinclair, he's the middle child. Teddy, the youngest, seems like a sweetheart who may get ruined by the Vinemont's but he is adorable, I don't want him to turn to the dark side!!

I loved the characters and the twists and turns of the plot, I was gripped!!

The book ends on a cliffhanger, luckily the next one is out in under two weeks so I'm coping. I can't wait to get my teeth stuck into the next one. This book was perfect; intense and testing story line, hot chemistry and hotter sex, fast paced action, consumable in one night and left me wanting SO much more!!

Thoroughly recommend this one!! In celebration of the next book, Magnate, coming out on the 19th, I'll be doing a giveaway of both books, so keep an eye on my facebook page!!

  • Facebook B&W
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Twitter B&W
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • Black Google+ Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Blog Archive
bottom of page