top of page

ARC REVIEW: Picking Up The Pieces by Shelby Reeves


I was asked by the author of this book to review it, so I'm going to try and give an honest review but without spoiling anything, which is going to be really hard!

This is a young adult romance which follows Kaylee and Adam. Kaylee has a boyfriend who doesn't treat her right, but because of her history she believes she's treated how she deserves, badly. Her father dies and she believes it was her fault, her mother reinforces this idea and breaks down her self esteem so much that she can't understand how any one would her.

Riley, her boyfriend, has a secret. He's horrible to Kaylee, so horrible that you start thinking he must have a horrific secret to be doing the things he's doing, it doesn't really make sense. It's clear he has a drug problem but it seems to be so much more than that.

Adam swoops in and instantly falls for Kaylee. It annoyed me how long it took for Kaylee to see that Adam wanted her so she didn't need Riley anymore, but eventually she saw it but it was too late, and a lot of damage was done.

Now I can't really say the thing that sent me into an absolutely rage because it would be considered a big spoiler. But there is a moment when something happens to Kaylee and I nearly cried reading it. BUT THEN the following events, in my head, were just so illogical that I became furious that there was no mention of the obvious solution in my head. It was avoided to help the plot along. I was in a fury, but then I spoke to some people and I did some research and saw that even if it was mentioned it might not have made a difference anyway. Maybe I'd have preferrred it be mentioned even if the same result was reached but what the hey! The author said I was the only one to mention it so it's probably just me and everyone else won't notice! Rant over.

Unfortunately, after that bit I was in too much of rage to appreciate the rest of the book. The way Kaylee handles herself I find to be quite childish sometimes but then she is only 17. Adam is perfect, he's amazing and so are his parents, I have no doubt he will shine in the next book, Kaylee just has a lot of cleaning up to do!

I can't bring myself to read the next one yet, I'm not quite over this one. I found myself annoyed by it in places but I was still gripped. I have to remind myself it's only fiction sometimes! I think it's a good story, I don't really like where the story is going but I can only hope things pick in the next one. My other gripe is that they've started a love triangle plot and I hate love triangle plots, somebody always gets hurt and it makes me sad!

To summarise...whilst the book had bits that annoyed me, I can't deny that it is a gripping book, that will make you continue reading just so you can find out what the hell is going on with Riley and her mum!!

The next book is Healing the Pieces and I'll read that probably in December, after Movember month and once I've recovered from this one. :-P

You can buy Picking up the Pieces by clicking here

and Healing the Pieces by clicking here

  • Facebook B&W
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Twitter B&W
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • Black Google+ Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Blog Archive
bottom of page