top of page

REVIEW: Priest by Sierra Simone


I had heard all about Priest waaayyy before I decided to read it. The push came when one of my twitters friends, Beaute de Livres, said she recommended it and I trust her judgement so I thought 'Sod it! This is the weekend I'll read it!'. I had read a few reviews on Amazon and pretty much everyone liked it except a couple of religious people who found it to be highly offensive and despectful to the church. I'm not religious though so I wasn't put off!

The main thing I loved about this book was Tyler! It was pretty great to read a book from a man's perspective all the way through, and especially from a Priest. My only real knowledge of the church is everything I've watched on The Vicar of Dibley, which is probably a good thing because the Vicar in that, Geraldine, is a massive saucy flirt! She got married and stayed a Vicar but she was Church of England and I guess things are different for Tyler.

So yes, this book was hot and dirty! Tyler likes it hard and rough, even though he hasn't had sex in 3 years, fortunately for him, the girl who he breaks his vow for, Poppy, likes it the same way he does! I think I've read too many dirty books to find it shocking but the bits where they had sex in the church were actually really well written. It becomes part of the religious experience for them and it's holy and something they are sharing with God, they are sharing the rawist part of love with God. Even though I'm not religious, I still got that. I understood all of it.

I think some people might scoff at it because it might seem far fetched but the hardest bit for me to grasp was the Hot Priest bit! I'm sure they exist but I have never seen one! However, if it's anything like this book, sign me up! Poppy is an interesting character and I dont think you really see enough of her personality but you learn a lot about Tyler and you trust his emotions. Their love is beautiful, they really are made for each other but there is the typical misunderstanding, which is a bit overdone and easy but I still enjoyed the book.

I don't think they got together too fast, it was an instant lust but then he is a priest so it had to be something incredible to make him break his vow so this didn't bother me. The one thing that kind of bothered me was that they didn't kiss first, I always like the first kiss but he went straight in for her vagina! They do kiss a few days after but I just think I would have preferred it if they kissed first. Maybe I'm a sop! It was hard, fast and filthy rather than sweet, slow and romantic - but that is not a bad thing!

Overall though, it's an incredibly hot read, it's different, it's risque and the male protagonist is sexy and dirty! 100% recommend and you may even feel like popping into a few churches after reading this!! I want a Tyler!

  • Facebook B&W
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Twitter B&W
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • Black Google+ Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Blog Archive
bottom of page