top of page

REVIEW: My Mr Sexy by C.C. Cartwright


Obviously by the name and the cover I was intrigued by this book, it was a quick read though and is part of a series. I didn't feel it needed to be, I felt like they'd divided the book up purely to give away half of it as free. I wasn't gripped enough though to buy the next one so I'm just reviewing this one.

My first thought was 'wow, this escalated quickly'. Literally, the day Marissa starts her new job, she meets two men who want to shag her. I did get the feeling she was a bit up herself at times but then she was the narrator so I don't know how she could say somebody was blatently flirting with her without it looking that way.

The first guy who is attracted to her, John, is just a coworker, she doesn't really fancy him back but likes him as a friend. The second guy is Nick who she also has an instant attraction too as well. Nick ends up getting her to his house and making out with her, where she finds out he has a fiance...

This is where it gets tricky.

Nick promises her he was pushed into the engagement and that he'll end it for her. Despite his intial deceit, Marissa isn't put off by him but she does say that she won't wait around for him and starts dating his high school friend, Mitch. This wasn't what I expected. Part of me thought, if he's going to end his engagement for you then you should wait for him at least for a bit, to prove you are serious and the feelings are real, otherwise he might end it for nothing. Or you could go the other way and say, well he should end it anyway seeing as he clearly isn't in love with his fiance.

Either way, Marissa essentially causes her own drama for herself by agreeing to date Mitch. He is a great guy but the fact that she is going to drop him the second Nick comes calling felt a bit mean to me. I did wonder which way it was going to go, I didn't really trust Nick as much as I did Mitch. However, this was all changed when Nick proposes love to Marissa and she, annoyingly, doesn't believe him. She's so worried he'll break her heart that her doubt causes it to break anyway.

It didn't really get off the ground. She should have talked to Nick more rather than going after Mitch and then maybe she would been more confident about Nick's feelings. I mean the man ended his engagement after meeting her so you'd think she'd have a bit more faith in him. She also shouldn't have dragged Mitch into a potentially messy love triangle. Mitch is even so sweet that he practically says he'll wait for her too!

I found myself rooting for Mitch more than Nick, which is obviously wrong because from I can guess, she'll end up with Nick and then Mitch will get his own book. I found myself disliking Marissa's actions but I can't really say it was a bad book. It had all the good raunchy bits and lusty moments, I just found the plot a bit frustrating.

  • Facebook B&W
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Twitter B&W
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • Black Google+ Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Blog Archive
bottom of page