top of page

REVIEW: Pretty Instinct by S.E. Hall


Well, I'll start by saying that I read the Finally Found series in the wrong order, I read Pretty Remedy before Pretty Instinct. I'm not sad I did, neither confused the other and although the order is clear, nothing was really spoilt for me.

I'll say secondly, that this is one of the few books that made me cry. Perhaps even the only book... maybe it was all the right (or wrong!) timing! Things I loved about this book were...

1. The relationship Liz, Rhett and Jarrett have. They aren't tied by blood but they really are family and love each other deeply. The fact they've remained friends since school and not drifted apart AND are prepared to sleep on a cramped tour bus together for months at a time, just shows how amazing their friendship is.

2. Conner, Liz's brother who incurred a Cerebral Hemorrhage when he was 19, is very lovable. I was bit concerned at how it would come across, worried about if it would be too over the top and maybe he would seem too childlike, the last thing I wanted to feel for Conner was pity, but fortunately I didn't get that. He's shown to be such a loving character, who's instinct is the most accurate of all! His relationship with Liz is great and Cannon is amazing with him too. It's beautiful that he is never ever shown to be a burden to Liz or the others.

3. Rhett. He is a very mysterious character, as S.E. Hall says, he's the brooding male with few words. But the words he does say to Liz are beautiful. I thought there would be more of a love triangle and at first you do get that impression. Liz and Rhett are rather handsy and comfortable, but as soon as Cannon is on the scene it's made very clear that they have a different kind of love.

4. The underlying mystery. Not only is this a romance novel, it has a genuinely interesting plot. The band tour on a bus and play a lot of gigs which seems fun but it becomes apparent that Liz isn't happy. She has so much resentment and hate towards her father, believing he killed her mother and caused Conner's condition The unfolding of this is very beautiful and was one of the points I welled up! It kept me so interested!

5. THE SEX. Who doesn't love a great sex scene? This book is full of passion and quirks and love and lust. Cannon is just adorable and the little nibbles he does to Lizzie's neck are just too cute. They are passionate about each other and the 69 scene is a definite highlight so make sure you're alone for that one. Haha!

6. Cannon and Liz's relationship. So romantic! The words they say to each other near the end are just beautiful. Yes, their relationship moves fast but you can tell it's because it's that One love that only happens once. They are perfect for one another. I like how Cannon does tell Liz when she's wrong, it's not the sort of relationship where he's blind to her faults, it's very real in that sense. I loved the romance in this book, I'm usually opposed to cheesy statements of love, but I didn't think there were any, it was just very beautiful!

When I bought this book it was free, it might still be if you're quick (like today, quick) but even if it isn't free, it's still so worth it. It's an awesome book, very romantic, very sexy, everything you want in a romance novel.

Don't feel like you shouldn't read Pretty Remedy after this because it might not match up, it's a different kind of story, much more sombre but still just as sweet and lovely!

It's got to be 5 stars!

  • Facebook B&W
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Twitter B&W
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • Black Google+ Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Blog Archive
bottom of page