top of page

REVIEW: Finding Pride By Jill Sanders


"Megan Kimble has finally freed herself from years of abuse at the hands of her ex. Now she can finally start a new life and figure out just who she really is. When her brother Matt dies suddenly, she takes a big risk and moves cross country to live in his house and take over his new business. This could be the chance she’s needed. There’s only one problem now. She can’t seem to escape the irresistible charm of her departed brother’s best friend. Todd Jordan just lost his best friend and business partner. Watching Matt’s sister move into town, his attraction to her is instant. Can he prove to her that all men are not the same, and resist his own desires as she learns to trust again? Overcoming the odds is just part of their journey. The two must first survive a fateful visit from Megan’s ex to have any chance at happiness."

If you are looking for a romance novel with lots of twists and turns then this isn't it. It is very safe and predictable really. But saying that, I still liked it, it was very endearing. The Jordan family seem like a lovely family who take care of each other. They are all very close and immediately welcome Megan into the town with the widest open arms possible.

Todd and Megan's attraction to each other is very instant and it's nice that it's a reasonably simple get together. They resist each other a little at first which is understandable, I hate it when it's dragged out unnecessarily but that doesnt happen here.

Obviously the ex showing up was bound to happen. I've learnt that it usually does when the heroine has escaped an incredibly abusive ex. It's quite a standard plot line. Along with pregnancy! Which is another one that grates on me after a while. When the author doesn't mention the use of protection during the sex scenes I expect what's going to happen next. Next thing you know they are being sick in the morning but convincing themselves they have the flu, when the reader knows better! It's too predictable.

Aside from the predictability of the story line, it was a nice read, the characters were great. I really liked Iain, Todd's deaf brother, and I think he'll have a good story when it comes to it. Layla, Todd's sister, was very...magical? I think from her first introduction she's described as a pixie and she's just so intuitive so I think maybe there's more to her than meets the eye. I think when she meets a man he will be completely lost in her.

The sex scenes were good, probably worth reading the books for! Todd is so sweet and tender and Megan finally learns what love is. I think there will be a lot of depth to Pride. Everyone in the town seems to have a tragic back story. Most people seem to have a lost a loved one. Todd on his own has lost 5 loved ones that were the closest people to him. It's amazing he isn't more broken to be honest!

I wouldn't rush to read this book, but as it's free it's definitely worth it. I will probably read the rest of the series, I want to find out more about Iain, but I'm not in any hurry. I'm giving it 3 stars because, while I liked it, the plot was very samey and I would have appreciated a twist or two!


  • Facebook B&W
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Twitter B&W
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • Black Google+ Icon
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Blog Archive
bottom of page